Japan is situated in North East Asia between the North Pacific and the Sea of Japan. The area of Japan is 377,873 square kilometres and the country consists of four major islands: Hokkaido, Honshu, Shikoku and Kyushu, surrounded by more than 4,000 smaller islands. Japan's topographical features include coastlines with varied scenery, towering often volcanic mountains, and twisted valleys that invite visitors into the mysterious world of nature. Japan's population is over 126 million. Most Japanese reside in densely populated urban areas. Japan's capital city is Tokyo.